Skip to content

epiphanubian

March 4, 2011

What is an epiphanubian?

Let me break it down for you.

As a black man who is prone to random fits of inspiration I’ve always felt a kinship with made up words, ergo a made up word to express this kinship. Epiphanies plus black man equals epiphanubian. Make sense?

That being said, what is my epiphany for the week? I’m a single father with a gorgeous specimen of an almost four-year old to focus my paternal efforts on. I recently gazed upon his beautifully sleeping form and realized that I am responsible for his entire reality. This is a huge responsibility because it compels me to want to make sure that it’s always better than whatever magical toddler fantasies currently occupy the space beneath his natural curls.

My son, CJ, loves cartoons.

If there are animated cars, trains or super heroes (or cars and trains transforming into super heroes) he’s transfixed for that commercial laden thirty minutes. He then starts every subsequent conversation with, “Optimus Prime is the best yadda yadda yadda” and the reality that is dinner, abc’s and bedtime get relegated to the, “really dad, do we have to do this” category.

My challenge (and I’m guessing I’m not alone in this) is to make abc’s as cool as Optimus Prime. Not wholly realistic but important to me nonetheless. I’m not trying to rob CJ of a hardy fantasy life, quite the opposite, I want to enrich it by making the world that he actually occupies as fulfilling.  That way he gets to have his robot super heroes and maybe one day be able to build them too.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

