Skip to content

identity crisis?

January 9, 2011

I’m a 37 year old brother that has never dated a sister—wow that came out way more Dueling Banjo’s than I anticipated…I’m not incestuous, I’ve just never gone out with a black woman.  It’s not that I don’t find them attractive or that I’m a textbook Oreo cookie (though if you heard me speak you would probably beg to differ). 

 Truth be told, I can dance like a mofo, my three favourite words are sugar-water-purple and let’s just say my lover’s eyes have a way of lighting up the first time we see each other sans vêtements. 

Now that my ego is satisfied…why no african-whatever girlfriends? Straight goods? I just don’t think they’re interested (the “bright side” is that pretty much every other nationality doesn’t seem to mind so much) and this has sparked a bit of an identity crisis for me.  Am I somehow “tainted” by my open mind and multinational relationships?  I don’t think so.  One of my favourite lines is, “we’re all products of our experiences”…it just makes sense like, “you are what you eat.” 

Ever since my mom transplanted my brother and I from the still segregated and very afrocentric Houston Heights neighborhood to a 95% white Christian private school in Mississauga, my game with the sisters suffered a mortal blow. 

 The funny part is the first time I went back to Texas (after ten plus years of enjoying the great Canadian cultural mosaic…at least in Toronto) my Uncle Walter surmised, “you have a white girlfriend don’t you?”  I didn’t even have to tell him about my Thrasher subscription or new found love of the ‘tangy zip’.

Should I give up long boarding and Miracle Whip?

Nah…I’m dating a great girl and I can still jump higher than you soooo crisis averted.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

